## SZÉCHÉNYI MEMORIAL DAY



This now long-established tradition took place in 2010 in an informal and intimate atmosphere in the assembly hall of the library. After the collective singing of the National Anthem, Director General, Dr Andrea Sajó, gave the opening speech in which she pointed out that this was now the 22<sup>nd</sup> occasion the memorial medal named after the founder Ferenc Széchényi was to be awarded. On 28 April 2010, Ágnes Pusztai, head of the Collection Protection Digitalisation Department, was presented with the medal.

During the presentation Marianne Érdi, head the Restoration and Binding Department, informed audience that the laureate had worked as a librarian since the age of twenty, and since May 2007 as the head of the mentioned department. Openminded to the introduction of new technology she took on a significant role in the smooth transfer of data from microfilms to digital records. In her work she effortlessly combined a service-centred attitude and a desire to satisfy readers' requirements in full with her

focus on protecting museum inventories. She was always professionally prepared and led her team with humanity, never with force of authority.

After Ágnes Pusztai's acknowledgement speech, Katalin Plihál, winner of last year's Széchényi medal award, gave a lecture about the cataloguing of the National Library's collection of old maps. This work was started in 1805, but the catalogue could only be published in print and on CD on its two hundredth anniversary. The lecturer emphasised that most of the maps in the collection were not special Hungarian creations, but they nevertheless have significant value from an international perspective as well.

This was followed by the customary presentation of service recognition awards, with the help of György Lukács TUC chairman.

10-year service recognition awards were presented

to Viktor Aitner, Attila Béres, Péter Dippold, Ágnes Farkas, Ágnes Hangodi, Hajnalka Hanvay, Szabolcs Gyorffy, János Káldos, Klára Kis, Eniko Korláth, Katalin Lénárt Bencsikné, Györgyi Mátrai Michnainé, István Mohácsi, Annamária Mozsolics, Zsuzsanna Németh, Erzsébet Horváth Pándiné, Gabriella Pechlof, Márta Kordics Redlné, Balázs Szabó, Lászlóné Szabó, Zoltánné Takács, Zsolt Vesztróczy and András Zaják.

20-year service recognition awards were presented



This year's winner of the Széchényi Medal, Ágnes Pusztai, with the Director General, Dr Andrea Sajó.

to Antal Ábrahám, Gergely Ballagó, Éva Csirmazné Rezi, Zoltán Dvornitzky, Éva Gyevi-Tóth, Péter Márius Magyar and Katalin Kovári Pásztóyné.

25-year service recognition awards were presented to Tibor Bojtos, András Drevenka, Eszter Fazokas, Gábor Fegyó, László Hegyi, András Juhász, Csabáné Kiss, Zoltán Major, Tibor Miklós, József Patócs, Péter Schertlin, Beáta Kutor Reisingerné, Mária Rózsa and Éva Kelemen Rózsáné.

30-year service recognition awards were presented to three colleagues, Rózsa Szelesi, György Ürge and Tibor Weeber.

Endre Attila Csobán acsoban.at.oszk.hu